Saturday, December 24, 2011

CV Daniel Costello

Friday, December 23, 2011

Wednesday, December 21, 2011

Raising cash at Christmas bash

A Christmas bash in Bucheon is to raise cash for Korean orphans on Friday night. The event at the Park bar in Jung-dong, Bucheon, will see gifts and cash collected for various orphanages in Gyeonggi Province.

Australian varsity forays into India

With India becoming a preferred destination for foreign universities, it is of no surprise that the University of Wollongong is all set to open its campus in India.

UOW Business School a rising star

The University of Wollongong's thriving Sydney Business School has jumped five places in the latest rankings of the top Asia-Pacific business schools. The multi-campus facility bucked the trend of some other Australian institutions, rising from 18th to 13th in the list of schools most favoured by international employers. It placed third in Australia, behind Melbourne Business School and the University of NSW.

Tuesday, December 20, 2011

Saturday, December 17, 2011

Interesting Korean Neighbour




"China's navy has hundreds of vessels at its disposal, among them nuclear submarines and an aircraft carrier, but it still does not come close to the huge naval firepower wielded by the United States.

Chinese President Hu Jintao called Tuesday for the country's navy to "make extended preparations for military combat", further fuelling fears over Beijing's ambitions in the highly strategic maritime area that surrounds it."

http://ca.news.yahoo.com/us-navy-still-eclipses-chinas-expanded-fleet-105412801.html

Tuesday, December 13, 2011

CV Daniel Costello

Monday, December 12, 2011

Backwater - Ode to Rural Nova Scotia?


Backwater
We're sailing at the edges of time
Backwater
We're drifting at the waterline
Oh we're floating in the coastal waters
You and me and the porter's daughters
Ooh what to do not a sausage to do
And the shorter of the porter's daughters
Dips her hand in the deadly waters
Ooh what to do in a tiny canoe

Black water
There were six of us but now we are five
We're all talking
To keep the conversation alive
There was a senator from Ecuador
Who talked about a meteor
That crashed on a hill in the south of Peru
And was found by a conquistador
Who took it to the emperor
And he passed it on to a Turkish guru

His daughter
Was slated for becoming divine
He taught her
He taught her how to split and define
But if you study the logistics
And heuristics of the mystics
You will find that their minds rarely move in a line
So it's much more realistic
To abandon such ballistics
And resign to be trapped on a leaf in a vine

Wednesday, December 07, 2011

STATEMENT OF TEACHING PHILOSOPHY


STATEMENT OF TEACHING PHILOSOPHY

DANIEL J. COSTELLO, BA (ACADIA), MIB (UOW)

This statement of teaching philosophy is written to meet general application requirements. The discipline of international business excites me because world trade has expanded more than twenty-five fold since 1950. I believe it is a flexible area of teaching and research due to the nature of its growth and rewards my approaches to applying it in the field of education. My teaching path is permitted due to its growth.

My motivational strategy is assisted by the needs of my students. For example, Korea’s economic growth relies on an export market economy where business English skills are vital and essential to acquiring new markets and trade representatives abroad. So while I encourage students’ innate curiosity and desire to seek out international opportunities, I do not need to “sell them” on its relevancy. One of my inspirational teachers said that a man should carry his business in his briefcase. This impacts my teaching and learning role in international business and willingness to work almost anywhere. So my teaching and lessons are a form of customer designed service.

My lesson planning skills have become more refined over fifteen years and following graduate studies in international business, two key strengths have emerged. First, my experience of teaching English as a second language has been an advantage in international business teaching as a large proportion of students and researchers are English as second language learners. Second, my desire to improve my teaching skills has positively influenced my record of achievement in acquiring further postgraduate certificate education.

In my classroom, the basis of my lessons rely on students’ textbook knowledge preparation with extensive pair work and group work with teacher and student led discussions, short presentations, and brief introductions to general topics, shallow and wide in focus and scope. Over a regular semester syllabus as many as twelve core topics are covered at an introductory undergraduate level. These topics are halved in sophomore and junior level classes all designed with respect for departmental request that students be given an opportunity to speak about and gain confidence in the topic of international business. As a result, while I seek to minimize my focal role, I do give students clear direction in their tasks and classroom activities when they play listening roles. However their core group discussions and classroom discoveries are facilitator led and directed by me. Due to social upbringing, Korean and Chinese students are often challenged by cooperative small group activities and I believe this helps prepare them for the realities of the international business working world.

My learning outcomes are measured in a few simple ways. First, I design and deliver online based homework which reviews the classroom based lesson topics. Then, I give a written midterm and final exam based upon the homework. Midterm exams are reviewed in terms of areas requiring future improvement. Finally, speaking presentations are evaluated to measure students’ depth of interest in self-selected topics as well as public speaking skills with full rubrics.


While rare, I enjoy teaching smaller groups of students because I have more chances to focus on each individual learner that way. I have learned that I am a flexible teacher with good common sense approaches to student and classroom management. I have acquired this self-knowledge through time, trial and error. I encourage students to visit my office for regular visiting hours or appointment or to connect by telephone, by email or through online wiki services. I evaluate my teaching effectiveness by monitoring students’ level of participation in class as well as through general required student evaluations, suggestions, consultation and comments of my working peers.

I have learned that teaching is an evolving skill which requires consistent renewal and good humor. While further education is always helpful, witnessing my students’ successes is also affirming. For example, following one of my lessons about online sales and marketing a Chinese student set up a website selling Skype card accounts. He has since returned to China and joined the Skype China Head Office. Another graduate joined The Import Export Bank of Korea; still another started an auto export business to South East Asia. A recent graduate told me she will soon be locating to China as a regional manager of a global restaurant chain where she started ladling soup in the kitchen as a freshman. Another fellow has been posted to Chennai, India to head up an offshore trade office while yet another handles apparel orders for JC Penny. There is even one enterprising character that spent a year managing a large team on a corporate service account at a five star hotel in Florida on a study break.

While I cannot profess to a record of published research I am not incorrigible in this regard. I work and teach in isolation from my own culture and take my holidays on frequent trips around Asia and the Middle East and I value my free time. Following the high altitude of graduate studies rather than continue to a PhD program, I chose to learn the nuts and bolts of international trade and have not been idle in this regard. It is a form of practical hands on research that I have conducted. Even while a humanities undergrad my weekends and evenings were on call at a local lobster pound scaling, packing, loading, shipping and receiving live seafood for air cargo exports.

The best learning experience I have had so far is my current teaching position rewarded due to diligence and patience in my job search. Here I was kindly managed and allowed to freely grow my knowledge base and my ability to design stimulating courses for my students. But it was never my intention to live in Korea forever. So as the time comes to leave, I am confident, I will attain my next successful teaching post through further diligence and patience and be one step closer to greater mastery of my craft as I am not finished yet. ”For our pupil, a little room, a garden, table and bed, solitude, company, morning and evening; all hours shall be alike to him, and all places will be his study.” Michel de Montaigne

Monday, December 05, 2011

Bruce Cockburn - Night Train



Bruce Cockburn - Night Train

Not a knife throw from here you can hear the night train passing
That's the
sound somebody makes when they're getting away
Leaving next week's hanging
jury far behind them
Prisoner only of the choices they have
made

Night Train...
Night Train...

Ice cube in a dark drink
shines like starlight
The moon is floating somewhere out at sea
On an
island in the blur of noise and color
Alcatraz, St. Alina, Patmos and the
Chateau D'if

Night Train...
Night Train...

And everyone's an
island edged with sand
A temporary refuge where somebody else can
stand
Till the sea that binds us like the forced tie of a blood oath
Will
wear it down, dissolve it, recombine it

Anyone can die here they do it
every day
It doesn't take much effort though it goes against the
grain
And the ultimate forgetfulness of violence
Sweeps the landscape
like a headlight of a train

Night Train...

Ice cube in a dark
drink shines like starlight
Starlight shines like glass shards in dark
hair
And the mind's eye tumbles out along the steel track
Fixing every
shadow with its stare

Night Train...
Night Train...

And in the
absence of a vision there are nightmares
And in the absence of compassion
there is cancer
Whose banner waves over palaces and mean streets
And the
rhythm of the night train is a mantra

Monday, November 28, 2011

Dreams for Sale: Lehigh Acres and the Florida Foreclosure Crisis



I liked this video a lot so sharing it here.

Tuesday, November 22, 2011

Ain't Too Proud to Beg






Ain't Too Proud to Beg

I know you wanna leave me,
But I refuse to let you go
If I have to beg and plead for your sympathy,
I don't mind coz' you mean that much to me

Ain't too proud to beg, sweet darlin
Please don't leave me girl, don't you go
Ain't to proud to plead, baby, baby
Please don't leave me, girl, don't you go

Now I heard a cryin' man,
Is half a man with no sense of pride
But if I have to cry to keep you,
I don't mind weepin' if it'll keep you by my side

Ain't to proud to beg, sweet darlin
Please don't leave me girl, don't you go
Ain't to proud to plead, baby, baby
Please don't leave me girl, don't you go

If I have to sleep on your doorstep
All night and day just to keep you from walkin' away
Let your friends laugh, even this I can stand
Because I want to keep you any way I can

Ain't too proud to beg, sweet darlin'
Please don't leave me girl, don't you go
Ain't to proud to plead, baby, baby
Please don't leave me girl, don't you go

Now I've gotta love so deep in the pit of my heart
And each day it grows more and more
I'm not ashamed to come and plead to you baby
If pleadin' keeps you from walkin' out that door

Ain't too proud to beg, you know it sweet darlin'
Please don't leave me girl, don't you go
Ain't to proud to plead, baby, baby
Please don't leave me girl, don't you go
Baby, baby, baby, baby (sweet darling)

Monday, November 14, 2011

Stan Rogers - Guysborough Train



Now there's no train to Guysborough,
Or so the man said,
So it might be a good place to be...
I sit in this station,
And I count up my change,
And I wait for the Guysborough train...

Now I've sat in your kitchens,
And talked about walls,
And I've sung about your withering pain,
Shattered your temples,
And I've brought on your fall,
Now I wait for the Guysborough train...

CHR: And I ride for all time, on the Guysborough line,
And I grow by the North Country rain,
And the North Shore's begun, the man I've become,
In rags, on the Guysborough train...

No train to Guysborough
Now ain't that a shame,
Though I know there will be one in time,
And the house that's alone,
It soon will be gone,
Razed for the Guysborough line

CHR: And I ride for all time, on the Guysborough line,
And I grow by the North Country rain,
And the North Shore's begun, the man I've become,
In rags, on the Guysborough train...

People are simple,
Like the rain clouds sweet,
Both grown by that North Country rain,
The Interval is clear,
Will it soon disappear,
Under the Guysborough train?

CHR: And I ride for all time, on the Guysborough line,
And I grow by the North Country rain,
And the North Shore's begun, the man I've become,
In rags, on the Guysborough train..

Monday, October 31, 2011

Happy Halloween!



Bravado

If we burn our wings
Flying too close to the sun
If the moment of glory
Is over before it's begun
If the dream is won --
Though everything is lost
We will pay the price,
But we will not count the cost
[ Lyrics from: http://www.lyricsfreak.com/r/rush/bravado_20120045.html ]
When the dust has cleared
And victory denied
A summit too lofty
River a little too wide
If we keep our pride
Though paradise is lost
We will pay the price,
But we will not count the cost

And if the music stops
There's only the sound of the rain
All the hope and glory,
All the sacrifice in vain
And if love remains
Though everything is lost
We will pay the price,
But we will not count the cost

Monday, October 17, 2011

This is the point?

Wednesday, October 05, 2011

Thursday, September 22, 2011

Ready for the Storm

Wednesday, September 21, 2011

"Just a Boo-Boo"

Friday, September 16, 2011

I think I'll be playing this at The Road King in Cheongju tomorrow night?





You, Yes You, Stand Still Laddie!

When we grew up and went to school, there were certain teachers who would hurt the children anyway they could
by pouring their derision upon anything we did
exposing every weakness however carefully hidden by the kids.

But in the town it was well known that when they got home at night
their fat and psychopathic wives
Would thrash them within inches of their lives!

ooooooooooooo, oooooooo, ooooooooooo, ooooooooo, ooooooooo, ooooooooo,oooo.

We don't need no education
We don’t need no thought control
No dark sarcasm in the classroom
Teachers leave them kids alone
Hey! Teacher! Leave them kids alone!
All in all it's just another brick in the wall.
All in all you're just another brick in the wall.

(A bunch of kids singing) We don't need no education
We don’t need no thought control
No dark sarcasm in the classroom
Teachers leave them kids alone
Hey! Teacher! Leave us kids alone!
All in all it's just another brick in the wall.
All in all you're just another brick in the wall.

Spoken:
"Wrong, Guess again!
Wrong, Guess again!
If you don't eat yer meat, you can't have any pudding.
How can you have any pudding if you don't eat yer meat?
You! Yes, you behind the bikesheds, stand still laddie!"

[Sound of many TV's coming on, all on different channels]
"The Bulls are already out there"
Pink: "Aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaarrrrrgh!"
"This Roman Meal bakery thought you'd like to know."

I don't need no arms around me
And I dont need no drugs to calm me.
I have seen the writing on the wall.
Don't think I need anything at all.
No! Don't think I'll need anything at all.
All in all it was all just bricks in the wall.
All in all you were all just bricks in the wall.

Wednesday, August 31, 2011

Cool tune, I like it.



If you need me, I will run to you
And if you call me, out of the blue
I will run to catch you as you fall on me

And it's no surprise that you'll soon forget about me

So slow it down
And take it easy

If you want me, I will be right here
And if you love me, you will notice me here

And it's no surprise that your eyes are crying my name
And it's no surprise that my eyes are seeing the same

So slow it down
And take it easy


Monday, August 08, 2011

Joni Mitchell: Hejira - perfect for rainy days



Joni Mitchell

I'm traveling in some vehicle
I'm sitting in some cafe
A defector from the petty wars
That shell shock love away
There's comfort in melancholy
When there's no need to explain
It's just as natural as the weather
In this moody sky today
In our possessive coupling
So much could not be expressed
So now I'm returning to myself
These things that you and I suppressed
I see something of myself in everyone
Just at this moment of the world
As snow gathers like bolts of lace
Waltzing on a ballroom girl

You know it never has been easy
Whether you do or you do not resign
Whether you travel the breadth of extremities
Or stick to some straighter line
Now here's a man and a woman sitting on a rock
They're either going to thaw out or freeze
Listen...
Strains of Benny Goodman
Coming thru' the snow and the pinewood trees
I'm porous with travel fever
But you know I'm so glad to be on my own
Still somehow the slightest touch of a stranger
Can set up trembling in my bones
I know - no one's going to show me everything
We all come and go unknown
Each so deep and superficial
Between the forceps and the stone

Well I looked at the granite markers
Those tribute to finality - to eternity
And then I looked at myself here
Chicken scratching for my immortality
In the church they light the candles
And the wax rolls down like tears
There's the hope and the hopelessness
I've witnessed thirty years
We're only particles of change I know, I know
Orbiting around the sun
But how can I have that point of view
When I'm always bound and tied to someone
White flags of winter chimneys
Waving truce against the moon
In the mirrors of a modern bank
>From the window of a hotel room

I'm traveling in some vehicle
I'm sitting in some cafe
A defector from the petty wars
Until love sucks me back that way


Wednesday, August 03, 2011

Nova Scotia Renewable Energy Feed-in Tariffs

An opportunity in Nova Scotia renewable energy exists with the Nova Scotia Government’s process of implementing a Feed-in Tariff (FIT) policy. FIT policies typically increase the amount of renewable energy produced in a region by paying people a higher than the retail price for electricity they produce. On July 4th 2011, the NS Community Feed in Tariff (COMFIT) rates were announced:

• Wind Power over 50 kW: $0.139/kWh
• Wind Power under 50 kW: $0.452/kWh
• Biomass (combined heat and power): $0.156/kWh (to be reviewed regularly)
• In-stream Tidal Power under 0.5 MW: $0.652/kWh
• Run-of-the-river Hydroelectricity: $0.14/kWh

Information on Nova Scotia’s COMFIT is provided online (http://www.nsrenewables.ca/feed-tariffs/community-corporations/quick-guide) and participation in the program can be achieved through the formation of a CO-OP.

The Colchester Regional Development Association (CoRDA) is proposing to support the forestry and farming industries in Nova Scotia through a process of sector consultations and workshops that will allow foresters and farmers to participate in the COMFIT program.

If there are any questions please contact CoRDA at ewicks@corda.ca


Tracy M. Thompson

Forestry Extension Assistant

Department of Natural Resources

P.O. Box 698

Halifax NS B3J 2T9


Phone: (902) 722-1066

Fax: (902) 424-7735

Sunday, July 31, 2011

Rock and Roll Girls


Sometimes I think life is just a rodeo,
The trick is to ride and make it to the bell.
But there is a place, sweet as you will ever know,
In music and love, and things you never tell.
You see it in their face, secrets on the telephone,
A time out of time, for you and no one else.

Chorus:
Hey let’s go all over the world,
Rock and roll girls, rock and roll girls.

Yeah, yeah, yeah!

If I had my way, I’d shuffle off to buffalo;
Sit by the lake, and watch the world go by.
Ladies in the sun, listenin’ to the radio,
Like flowers on the sand, a rainbow in my mind.

Chorus
Chorus
Chorus

Yeah, yeah yeah!

Great sax tune


Blue Jean-I just met me a girl named Blue Jean

Blue Jean-she got a camouflaged face and no money
Remember they always let you down when you need 'em

Oh, Blue Jean - is heaven any sweeter than Blue Jean
She got a police bike
She got a turned up nose

Sometimes I feel like
(Oh, the whole human race)
Jazzin' for Blue Jean
(Oh, and when my Blue Jean's blue)
Blue Jean can send me
(Oh, somebody send me)
Somebody send me
(Oh, somebody send me)

One day I'm gonna write a poem in a letter
One day I'm gonna get that faculty together
Remember that everybody has to wait in line
Blue Jean-look out world you know I've got mine
She got Latin roots
She got everything

Thursday, July 28, 2011

CertIBET Pass with Distinction

2011 Trinity CertIBET Pass with Distinction.

CertIBET – Written Assignment

Question Two

i) Select, adapt and or develop a set of materials for a six hour segment of a business

English programme. Relate your materials to an individual business English learner or

group at a level of your choice.

ii) Provide an outline lesson plan for the six hours indicating language focus, skills and/or

purposes that the materials will support.

iii) Provide a rationale for your choice of materials and their exploitation.

Name:Daniel J. Costello Course Provider: The Consultants-e Date: January 2011

Word Count: 3364 (including cover page) 3310 (excluding cover page)

Wednesday, July 13, 2011

Couple Adopts Gorilla


Saw this in Maclean's.

Saturday, June 18, 2011

Avoid Asiana?

South Korean troops shoot at passenger jet

South Korean troops have shot at civilian passenger jet after mistaking it for a North Korean military aircraft.

Wednesday, June 15, 2011

Acadian Forest Restoration Workshop June 25th

You are invited to attend a free workshop, hosted by the Mersey Tobeatic Research Insitute, on Acadian Forest Restoration. The workshop will be held at MTRI in Kempt, NS on Saturday, June 25, 1-4pm.
In this afternoon session, you will learn all about sustainable, small-scale forestry operations. Topics will range from growing trees from seed, to feeling trees in tight spots, to sawing custom lumber with a portable sawmill. Come to learn about the beginning to end of a simple forestry operation.
To register, please call (902) 682-2371. For more information, you may visit their website atwww.merseytobeatic.ca or e-mail info@merseytobeatic.ca.
Please see the attached poster.
Kind regards,
Tracy Thompson
Tracy M. Thompson
Forestry Extension Assistant
Department of Natural Resources
P.O. Box 698
Halifax NS B3J 2T9
Phone: (902) 722-1066
Fax: (902) 424-7735
Tracy M. Thompson
Forestry Extension Assistant
Department of Natural Resources
P.O. Box 698
Halifax NS B3J 2T9
Phone: (902) 722-1066
Fax: (902) 424-7735

Monday, June 13, 2011

Fattening Frogs For Snakes



Fattening Frogs For Snakes

by
Sonny Boy Williamson II (Rice Miller)
recording of 19
from
The Essential Sonny Boy Williamson (Chess/MCA 9343)

It took me a long time to find out my mistakes
Took me a long time to find out my mistakes
it sho'h did man
But I bet you my bottom dollar I'm not fattenin' no more frogs for snakes
I found out my downfall back in nineteen and thirty eight
I started checkin'
I found out my downfall from nineteen and thirty eight
I'm tellin' all of my friends I'm not fattenin' no more frogs for snakes
All right now
Yeah it is nineteen and fifty-seven I've got to correct all of my mistakes
Whoa man nineteen and fifty-seven I've got to correct all of my mistakes
I'm tellin' my friends includin' my wife and everybody else
not fattenin' no more frogs for snakes

Friday, June 10, 2011

South Korea to Weigh Rate Increase as Household Debt Poses Risk for Growth

Financial liabilities of individuals in South Korea were 155.4 percent of disposable income at the end of 2010, “one of the highest ratios globally” and still climbing, Young Il Choi, an analyst at Moody’s Investors Service, said in a report last month.

Read more here.

Wednesday, June 01, 2011

Sonny's Dream: Ron Hynes



Sonny's Dream
(Ron Hynes)


Sonny lives on a farm on a wide open space
Where you can take off your sneakers and give up the race
You could lay down your head by a sweet river bed
But Sonny always remembers what it was his Mama said

Sonny carries a load though he's barely a man
There ain't all that to do, still he does what he can
And he watches the sea from a room by the stairs
And the waves keep on rollin', they've done that for years

cho: Oh, Sonny don't go away, I am here all alone
And your daddy's a sailor who never comes home
And the nights get so long and the silence goes on
And I'm feeling so tired, I'm not all that strong

And it's a hundred miles to town, Sonny's never been there
And he goes to the highway and stands there and stares
And the mail comes at four and the mailman is old
Oh, but he still dreams his dreams full of silver and gold

Sonny's dreams can't be real, they're just stories he's read
They're just stars in his eyes, they're just dreams in his head
And he's hungry inside for the wide world outside
And I know I can't hold him though I've tried and I've tried

Oh, Sonny don't go away, I am here all alone
And your daddy's a sailor who never comes home
And the nights get so long and the silence goes on
And I'm feeling so tired, I'm not all that strong

Tuesday, May 31, 2011

Broken Bells - The High Road: For those who miss playing pong?



Broken Bells - The High Road

We're bound to wait all night.
She's bound to run amok.
Invested enough in it anyhow,
To each his own...

The Garden needs sorting out.
She curls her lips on the bow,
And I don't know if I'm dead or not,
To anyone...

Come on and get the minimum,
Before you open up your eyes.
This army has so many heads,
To analyze...

Come on and get your overdose.
Collect it at the borderline,
And they want to get up in your head...

Cause they know and so do I.
The high road is hard to find.
A detour to your new life.
Tell all of your friends goodbye.

The dawn to end all nights,
That's all we hoped it was.
A break from the warfare in your house,
To each his own...

A soldier is bailing out.
He curled his lips on the barrel.
And I don't know if the dead can talk,
To anyone...

Come on and get the minimum.
Before you open up your eyes.
This army has so many hands,
Are you one of us?

Come on and get your overdose.
Collect it at the borderline,
And they want to get up in your head...

Cause they know and so do I.
The high road is hard to find.
A detour to your new life.
Tell all of your friends goodbye.

It's too late to change your mind,
You let loss be your guide.

It's too late to change your mind,
You let loss be your guide.

It's too late to change your mind,
You let loss be your guide.

It's too late to change your mind,
You let loss be your guide.

Wednesday, May 25, 2011

Hankuk University of Foreign Studies in Seoul

Faculty members (full-time) needed for Hankuk University of Foreign Studies in Seoul

Position Opening


1. Period: September 1, 2011 – August 31, 2012 (The contract can be extended every 1 year, posterior to the performance evaluation)

2. Qualifications: Candidates should have at least an MA (or equivalent) in Business Administration such as Strategic Management, International Business, Finance, Marketing, Supply Chain Management, Operational Management, Information Management, Service Management, or Management Science

* Recruitment: 3-4 faculty members.

3. Salary:
- Full Professor (e.g. Person possessing at least 11 years education experience at Universities): 4,652,500 Won per month (Korean Currency)
- Associate Professor (e.g. Person possessing at least 6 years education experience at Universities): 4,148,000 Won per month
- Assistant Professor (e.g. Person possessing at least 2 years education experience at Universities): 3,627,200 Won per month
- Full-time Lecturer (e.g. Person who doesn't have education experience at Universities): 3,108,700 Won per month

* 1. Successful candidate will receive 12 months salary for the first year.
2. If you work for one year you will receive 13 months salary from the second year.
3. For reference, approximate exchange rate is $1,100-1,150/USD.

4. Travel: One-way air plane ticket from (departure) to Seoul (economy class for the faculty member and his/her spouse)

* University will purchase an air plane ticket and send it to foreign faculty by E-Mail (electronic ticket form)

5. Accommodations: Dormitory for foreign professors (single room or family room)

6. Documents required: Curriculum vitae at the initial stage

* Successful candidates will need to submit Certificate of employment in English, Photo Copy of diplomas (such as BA, MA, Ph.D), Research / publications list in English, Copy of passport (including your family, incase come with a family), Certificate of marriage if possible, Certificate of children's birth if possible, family member's photos in Korea.

7. Other benefits:

- Publication in Korean domestic journals
Support of 1,000,000 won will be given as a basic for one academic paper, and an additional 2,000,000 won will be given as support for one additional paper. Maximum frequency of support is twice per year for each faculty member.

- Publication in international journals indexed in SSCI (i.e. social science citation index)
8,000,000 won will be given for each paper. Maximum frequency of support is twice per year for faculty member.

* 1. The amount is decreased for the articles written by more than one author.
2. University will provide 70% of the total grants for collaboration publishment (2 authors)
3. All academic papers supported by Hankuk University of Foreign Studies are required the citation at the bottom of their first pages as described below:
This work was supported by Hankuk University of Foreign Studies Research Fund

8. Deadline: May 31, 2011.

9. Documents should be mailed to leedspark@hufs.ac.kr

Johnny Cash: Ghost Riders in the Sky

Tuesday, May 24, 2011

Hello Love



Hello Love sung by Hank Snow (written by Aileen Mnich and Betty Jean Robinson)

Well, look who's comin' through the door
I think we've met somewhere before. hello love, hello love
Where in the world have you been so long
I've missed you so since you've been gone, hello love, hello love.

Make yourself feel right at home
I hope you plan on staying long, come in love, come in love
I must say I was sure surprised
You're the last thing I expected by, hello love, hello love.

I've heard it said time and again
You often go back where you've been
I really didn't believe it was true
But I left the door unlocked for you.

I'll try to please you in every way
Assure you of a pleasant stay this time love, this time love
I've been so blue since you've been gone
Now you're back with me and nothing's wrong, hello love, hello love.

--- Instrumental ---

I've heard it said time and again
You often go back where you've been
I really didn't believe it was true
But I left the door unlocked for you.

And it's wonderful now you're back with me
And things are like they used to be, remember love, remember love
You're back with me now and my world's complete
So don't mind me if I repeat, hello love, hello love, hello love, hello love...

Tuvan Throat Singing



Always enjoy a little Tuvan throat singing from time to time.

Thursday, May 12, 2011

Full-time faculty position, Department of e-Trade, Keimyung Univ.

Full-time faculty position, Department of e-Trade, Keimyung Univ.

Position: Tenure or non-tenure track full-time faculty position Salary: Around $50,000 for tenure track faculty (negotiable) and minimum 3.0 million won per month for non-tenure track faculty Institution: Department of e-Trade, College of Social Science, Keimyung Univ. Location: Daegu, South Korea Date posted: 4/26/2011 Application deadline: 6/30/2011

Faculty of the department of e-Trade in the College of Social Science at Keimyung University invites applicants for a tenure-track faculty position (non-Korean international staff only). Keimyung University, founded in 1954 to provide Christian higher education just after the Korean War, is a well-established academic institution in Daegu, South Korea. Keimyung University proudly leads the globalization of the region, raising future international leaders and experts who can contribute to the world peace and welfare.

Required Qualifications Candidates must have a doctorate degree for tenure track in general management (e-Business/e-Commerce). For non-tenure track, candidates must have a master’s degree in applied economics and management or related fields. Candidates are expected to demonstrate excellence in teaching; an ability to collaborate with department and university faculty members; and a commitment to supervising and advising students.

Essential Functions and Responsibilities

The tenure-track candidate will have primary responsibility for teaching 9 hours a week, research, advising students, and administrative tasks. For a non-tenure track, candidates should teach 12 hours a week.

Salary and Housing Successful tenure-track candidate will get minimum $50,000 (USD) per year (negotiable). For a non-tenure track, candidates will get minimum 3.0 million won per month. Housing (on-campus) can be provided.

Application Procedure

Submit the required documentation below to the contact address (prints by airmail or scanned files by an e-mail). Finalist(s) will be individually informed of the interview.
Required Documentation - Cover Letter - Resume (including an e-mail address, education, research list, and others) - Diplomas (for BA, MA, and PhD) - Transcripts (of BA, MA, and PhD courses)

Finalists will be required to submit the original copies of the above documentation and other relevant materials (e.g. PhD dissertation, career certificates, and others)

Contact Information

Professor Kunwoo Yang (Department Chair)
Email: kwyang@kmu.ac.kr
Phone: 82-53-580-6959
Address: College of Social Science, Keimyung University
2800 Dalgubeoldaero, Dalseo-Gu, Daegu, Korea 704-7
Information about Keimyung University can be found at www.kmu.ac.kr/e_kmu/.

Wednesday, May 11, 2011

Ducks and the Deep Hole

The Deep Hole

Two guys are walking down a road when they come across a deep hole beside it. Being curious, they go over and check it out. When they look down, they are surprised to find they can't see the bottom. So they drop a couple of rocks down the hole and listen... Nothing. One of them says, "Man, that's a deep hole!"
Thinking they might hear something larger hit the bottom, they find a big, old cinder block and pitch it over the side. The pause and listen intently... They hear a sound, but it is coming from behind them! They quickly turn around to see a goat bearing down on them with it head lowered, flying along, its feet barely touching the ground, its moving so fast!
The two men dive out of its way just in time and the goat plunges past them, into the seemingly bottomless hole, to its doom. The two look at each other and say, "Boy that was close! We'd better get away from this thing before we end up with the goat!".
So they continue on their way down the road until they happen across this farmer working near it. The men again put their heads together and figure that the goat belongs to the farmer and the decide to tell him what happened.

"Hey Mr. Farmer. Do you happen to own a goat?", one of the men asked.
The farmer replies, "Yeah, why do you ask?"
The men then tell what happened at the hole and how they narrowly avoided death in the hole from the speeding goat.
The farmer said, "Well boys, I don't think that was my goat. You see, my goat is really old and crippled up with arthritis. There is no way he could have been moving that fast. Besides, I have him tied to a big, old cinder block."

Amen!

GOD, FOR TODAY, help me to choose wisely in my relationships next time...if there is a next time. Guide me to a relationship where I am free to be myself, warts and all - a relationship where I'm free to have a time out of giving (during a physical illness, a deep grieving over the death of a loved one) without being punished.

I want a relationship where my partner is able to step forward in my time of need to lovingly care for me. I am a good caring person. I deserve to receive the kind of love that I offer. (Lynne Melville)

Tuesday, May 10, 2011

Challenging the Abyss: Dharma on Edge and The Drama Triangle



Challenging the Abyss: Dharma on Edge and The Drama Triangle from Fleet Maull



“Sweet is revenge, especially to women.”

"Lord Byron, who wrote those famous words, discovered that a woman’s revenge can be lifelong. He became caught up in what is nowadays a recognised psychological and social model: The Drama Triangle."

The Gambler


Kenny Rogers - The Gambler

On a warm summer's eve
On a train bound for nowhere
I met up with the gambler
We were both too tired to sleep
So we took turns a-starin'
Out the window at the darkness
The boredom overtook us, he began to speak

He said, "Son, I've made a life
Out of readin' people's faces
Knowin' what the cards were
By the way they held their eyes
So if you don't mind my sayin'
I can see you're out of aces
For a taste of your whiskey
I'll give you some advice"

So I handed him my bottle
And he drank down my last swallow
Then he bummed a cigarette
And asked me for a light
And the night got deathly quiet
And his faced lost all expression
He said, "If you're gonna play the game, boy
You gotta learn to play it right

You've got to know when to hold 'em
Know when to fold 'em
Know when to walk away
Know when to run
You never count your money
When you're sittin' at the table
There'll be time enough for countin'
When the dealin's done

Every gambler knows
That the secret to survivin'
Is knowin' what to throw away
And knowin' what to keep
'Cause every hand's a winner
And every hand's a loser
And the best that you can hope for
Is to die in your sleep"

And when he finished speakin'
He turned back toward the window
Crushed out his cigarette
And faded off to sleep
And somewhere in the darkness
The gambler he broke even
And in his final words
I found an ace that I could keep

You've got to know when to hold 'em
Know when to fold 'em
Know when to walk away
And know when to run
You never count your money
When you're sittin' at the table
There'll be time enough for countin'
When the dealin's done

You've got to know when to hold 'em
(When to hold 'em)
Know when to fold 'em
(When to fold 'em)
Know when to walk away
And know when to run
You never count your money
When you're sittin' at the table
There'll be time enough for countin'
When the dealin's done

You've got to know when to hold 'em
Know when to fold 'em
Know when to walk away
And know when to run
You never count your money
When you're sittin' at the table
There'll be time enough for countin'
When the dealin's done

My Reading List and On Order List

My Reading List and On Order List

1. The Wizard of Oz and Other Narcissists: Coping with the One-Way Relationship in Work, Love, and Family (20002) Eleanor Payson

2. Why Men Love Bitches (2009) Sherry Argov

3. Vampires: Emotional Predators Who Want to Suck the Life Out of You (1998) Daniel and Kathleen Rhodes

4. Emotional Blackmail: When the People in Your Life Use Fear, Obligation and Guilt to Manipulate You (1998) Susan Forward

5. Emotional Vampires: Dealing With People Who Drain You Dry (2002) Albert Bernstein

6. Say Goodbye to Your PDI: Recognize People Who Make You Miserable and Eliminate Them from Your Life for Good! (2007) Stan Kapuchinski

7. No More Mr. Nice Guy! (2003) Robert A. Glover

Boomerang Love: Getting Unhooked from Abusive Borderline Relationships

Boomerang Love: Getting Unhooked from Abusive Borderline Relationships

"Deborah Harper, President of Psychjourney interviews Ms. Lynn Melville, author of Boomerang Love: Getting Unhooked from Abusive Borderline Relationships published by Melville Publications.

Lynn Melville has served as Executive Director of the Mental Health Association in her hometown. Working with an all-volunteer board and community volunteers, she worked to educate people about mental health issues. Since the publication of her book, she's been very busy educating domestic violence victims about this disorder and telephone-coaching people all over the country who are struggling to leave these Borderline relationships."

Disarming the Narcissist Podcast: Wendy T. Behary and Armand DiMele

Radio Interview (4/9/08) Wendy T. Behary with: Armand DiMele, The Positive Mind 99.5 WBAI

Monday, May 09, 2011

Asia faces significant barriers to long-term growth

Asia faces significant barriers to long-term growth

It is not preordained that Asia will come to dominate the global economy during this century, the president of the Asian Development Bank, Haruhiko Kuroda, said last week.

Commenting on a report on Asian economies prepared by the bank for its annual meeting held in Hanoi, Kuroda said the region faces several daunting challenges and risks if it is to fulfil its potential.

Read more.




The Spinning Wheel, Impermanence and Amelia


"All is impermanent. And what is the all that is impermanent? The eye is impermanent, visual objects [ruupaa]... eye-consciousness... eye contact [cakku-samphassa]... whatever is felt [vedayita] as pleasant or unpleasant or neither-unpleasant-nor-pleasant, born of eye-contact is impermanent. [Likewise with the ear, nose, tongue, body, and mind]" (SN 35.43/vol. iv, 28)


Joni Mitchell
Amelia

I was driving across the burning desert
When I spotted six jet planes
Leaving six white vapor trails across the bleak terrain
It was the hexagram of the heavens
It was the strings of my guitar
Amelia it was just a false alarm

The drone of flying engines
Is a song so wild & blue
It scrambles time & seasons if it gets through to you
Then your life becomes a travelogue
Of picture post card charms
Oh Amelia it was just a false alarm

People'll tell you where they've gone
They'll tell you where to go
But till you get there yourself you'll never really know
Where some have found their paradise
Other's just come to harm
Oh Amelia it was just a false alarm

I wish that he was here tonight
It's so hard to obey
His sad request of me to kindly stay away
So this is how I hide the hurt
As the road leads cursed and charmed
I tell Amelia it was just a false alarm

A ghost of aviation
She was swallowed by the sky
Or by the sea like me she had a dream to fly
Like Icarus ascending
On beautiful foolish arms
Amelia it was just a false alarm

Maybe I've never really loved
I guess that is the truth
I've spent my whole life in clouds at icy altitude
And looking down on everything
I crashed into his arms
Amelia it was just a false alarm

I pulled into the Cactus Tree Motel
To shower off the dust
And I slept on the strange pillows of my wanderlust
I dreamed of 747s
Over geometric farms
Dreams Amelia
Dreams & false alarms

From the album Hejira

Gillis Mountain


Gillis Mountain

I took a trip up Gillis Mountain
On a sunny summer day
There were ruts in the road,
And the 4 wheel drive
Spun its wheels in the rocks and the clay
Yes it spun its wheels in the rocks and the clay

On our way up Gillis Mountain
On that sunny summer day
There were spruce trees growing on the fields
Where'r forefathers once made hay,
Where our forefathers once made hay,
And Oh Ooh Ooh, Gillis Mountain
Oh Ooh Ooh, Where'r forefathers once made hay

The Gillis's lived on the mountain
For about a hundred years
Where we picked berries, they cleared land
Spent their blood and sweat and tears
They spent their blood and sweat and tears
And Oh Ooh Ooh, Gillis Mountain
Oh Ooh Ooh, Spent their blood and sweat and tears

When we arrived on Gillis Mountain
You could see for miles in the light
The whitecaps on the sea of blue
Sparkled like diamonds in the night
They sparkled like diamonds in the night
And Oh Ooh Ooh, Gillis Mountain
Oh Ooh Ooh, Sparkled like diamonds in the night

And Oh Ooh Ooh, Gillis Mountain
Oh Ooh Ooh, sparkled like diamonds in the night

Rise Again!


The Mary Ellen Carter

She went down last October in a pouring driving rain.
The skipper, he'd been drinking and the Mate, he felt no pain.
Too close to Three Mile Rock, and she was dealt her mortal blow,
And the Mary Ellen Carter settled low.
There were five of us aboard her when she finally was awash.
We'd worked like hell to save her, all heedless of the cost.
And the groan she gave as she went down, it caused us to proclaim
That the Mary Ellen Carter would rise again.

Well, the owners wrote her off; not a nickel would they spend.
She gave twenty years of service, boys, then met her sorry end.
But insurance paid the loss to them, they let her rest below.
Then they laughed at us and said we had to go.
But we talked of her all winter, some days around the clock,
For she's worth a quarter million, afloat and at the dock.
And with every jar that hit the bar, we swore we would remain
And make the Mary Ellen Carter rise again.

Rise again, rise again, that her name not be lost
To the knowledge of men.
Those who loved her best and were with her till the end
Will make the Mary Ellen Carter rise again.

All spring, now, we've been with her on a barge lent by a friend.
Three dives a day in hard hat suit and twice I've had the bends.
Thank God it's only sixty feet and the currents here are slow
Or I'd never have the strength to go below.
But we've patched her rents, stopped her vents, dogged hatch and
porthole down.
Put cables to her, 'fore and aft and birded her around.
Tomorrow, noon, we hit the air and then take up the strain.
And watch the Mary Ellen Carter Rise Again.

For we couldn't leave her there, you see, to crumble into scale.
She'd saved our lives so many times, living through the gale
And the laughing, drunken rats who left her to a sorry grave
They won't be laughing in another day. . .
And you, to whom adversity has dealt the final blow
With smiling bastards lying to you everywhere you go
Turn to, and put out all your strength of arm and heart and brain
And like the Mary Ellen Carter, rise again.

Rise again, rise again - though your heart it be broken
And life about to end
No matter what you've lost, be it a home, a love, a friend.
Like the Mary Ellen Carter, rise again.

Saturday, May 07, 2011

Al Green-How Can You Mend A Broken Heart


Al Green-How Can You Mend A Broken Heart

I can think of younger days when living for my life
Was everything a man could want to do
I could never see tomorrow, but I was never told about the sorrow

And how can you mend a broken heart?
How can you stop the rain from falling down?
How can you stop the sun from shining?
What makes the world go round?
How can you mend a this broken man?
How can a loser ever win?
Please help me mend my broken heart and let me live again

I can still feel the breeze that rustles through the trees
And misty memories of days gone by
We could never see tomorrow, no one said a word about the sorrow

And how can you mend a broken heart?
How can you stop the rain from falling down?
How can you stop the sun from shining?
What makes the world go round?
How can you mend this broken man?
How can a loser ever win?
Please help me mend my broken heart and let me live again

Friday, May 06, 2011

Sunday, May 01, 2011

Homeless and Forgiveness


"Forgiveness is the key that unlocks the door of resentment and the handcuffs of hate. It is a power that breaks the chains of bitterness and the shackles of selfishness.” William Arthur Ward





Give me one reason


Give me one reason
Give me one reason to stay here and I'll turn right back around Give me one reason to stay here and I'll turn right back around Said I don't wanna leave you lonely You got to make me change my mind  Baby I got your number and I know that you got mine You know that I've called you, I've called too many times You can call me baby You can call me anytime, but you got to call me  Give me one reason to stay here and I'll turn right back around Give me one reason to stay here and I'll turn right back around Said I don't wanna leave you lonely You got to make me change my mind  I don't want no one to squeeze me They might take away my life I don't want no one to squeeze me They might take away my life I just want someone to hold me And rock me through the night  This youthful heart can love you, yes, and give what you need This youthful heart can love you, girl, and give what you need But I'm too old to go chasing you around wasting my precious energy  Give me one reason to stay here, yes, and I'll turn right back around Give me one reason to stay here, whow, and I'll turn right back around Said I don't wanna leave you lonely You got to make me change my mind  Baby just gives me one reason Give me just one reason why Baby just gives me one reason Give me just one reason why I should stay Because I told you that I loved you and there ain't no more to say

Wednesday, April 27, 2011

Like a River

Monday, April 25, 2011